By: Patilynn Locke

Evil Ernie Godeater #1

Written by Justin Jordan and Keith Davidsen

Dynamite Comics

I have a lot of words to say about this book, unfortunately most of them are four lettered ones. I bought this with high hopes and was excited to see that Ben Templesmith did the art for the variant cover I picked (because I’ve followed his work for years). The overall artwork was nice, except for the fact that everyone’s speech bubbles were different. It was as if the reader wouldn’t understand when different people were speaking, even though the bubble was coming from their direction. One character’s lettering was a pale grey which also made it annoying to read. Being a single issue, I knew that it would only be part of a bigger story, but this plot gave me almost nothing. Basic plot summed up: There is a girl, something magical happens to her, Ernie is pissed off driving around, he fights some undead things and girl shows up. The End. To make matters worse, half of the book was ANOTHER COMIC STORY and ads! They had enough room to flesh out the plot some and in my opinion wasted it. I will buy one more issue in hopes they do better but no more after that if it’s anything like this book.

I rate this one 1.5/5 Full Moons mostly just for the artwork.